I’ve got some friends

who get me to the gym more often, keep me focused on an efficient and safe workout, and are good company. They are my daughters, former student athletes and now workout partners.

Sometimes we go with unanimous enthusiasm, sometimes we wimp out, they complain about my shower lengths and I tell them how gross the gym can be and that they should wash it off now and not when we get home. Watching them from a distance I see two young women, and oddly enough their resemblance to each other, and when we leave we talk about our workouts.

Last night I tried a barre inspired class called “Ballet Sculpt”, it kicked my butt.  Only body weight, lots of core and leg work, lots of stretching; my quads still feel fatigued. So much so that after the class lifting my legs to put my shoes on felt like a no-go.  With all the pointing this is no surprise to me; pointing your feet wakes up the front of your legs while flexing them wakes up the back.  I’ll be sure to get in a workout in the next day or so that focuses on the back of my legs and works my hamstrings and glutes to balance things out. 

Leave a Reply

