new gear, new experiences

The cold wet weather hasn’t exactly been conducive for running, Tuesday was good but I haven’t been out since. . . I had forgotten about Tuesday (it’s been that kind of week), I’m not feeling so bad anymore. 

On Tuesday I had my best run yet, 1.7 miles with zero walking breaks. For ME this is a big deal. Next Saturday I’ll be running with my Dad’s group, Team World Vision, to get some foundation training in early and to spend some time with him.  The first run is 20 minutes out and then whatever it takes to get back. I’m feeling good about where I’m starting from. 

I have learned that if I continue to run through my heart’s initial acceleration and maintain a steady pace I can go longer (1.7 mikes so far) without a walking break. But I have to maintain a slow and steady pace.  When it feels like a lot, I take a few deep cleansing breaths then return in breathing in for two steps and out for three, and I remember to smile. 

Up until now I have been running in a pair of Mizuno Wave Creation 13 that were once my gym cross trainers, they did the job and I’ll keep them on reserve for messier weather, but the intent has always been to replace them. Last night I went to Universal Sole, a local independently owned running shop, to buy my official running shoes. They asked me about my running background and what my current goal was, looked at my feet as I stood, did double and then single leg squats and walked. I overpronate, not a lot but I do. The next step was to see what my body does when I run.  So with a shoe that offers some support for my arches I ran on the treadmill while a camera recorded my feet, and there was my right foot (more than my left) over pronating. 

Next I tried on shoes, easily half a dozen pair, and I ran in the store. (Still wearing my work clothes) We narrowed it down to 3: the first tester pair that Felt very natural to me but that I ultimately ruled out because they probably didn’t offer enough cushion for very long distances, a pair with a lot of cushion and a firm arch support and then a pair in the middle. 

The pair with the cushion is apparently very popular, while I was in the store a woman came in who had worn out her previous pair and wanted to replace them with more of the same. But the longer I had them on the more I felt the arch support hitting what I think of as the beginning of my heel.  They also felt like “a lot of shoe” for someone who prefers to wear minimalist gym shoes. The final straw was that in my opinion they were just plain ugly. I could get past that one. 

The in-between pair felt supportive and comfortable, not as much shoe as the cushy one but no where near a minimal as my everyday (I mean that, every day) shoes.  When they were on I felt nothing, and I decided that was what I wanted, to not notice the shoes on my feet. 

So five brands and six shoes later, with a catalog consultation (they were going to order the cushy ones in a better looking color) I decided to buy the Brooks Ravenna 8 with the promise that if I take them for a run and they don’t feel right I can come back. Of course it was cold and rainy this morning so they are still brand new; but I’m hoping that tomorrow morning I’ll get to try them out.  It’s likely that I’ll need a new pair before the marathon and if it turns out that I LOVE these shoes they come in a very colorful model that I’ll try to get (function first, function first).   With my shoes now acquired I ordered my road I.D. which attaches to my shoes. There won’t be, but if there were ever a time I was found passed out from running, my emergency contact info is right there. 

One thought on “new gear, new experiences

Leave a Reply

