this group will never be the same again

a few years ago we went to an art museum for spring break, I love this pic!

Today I picked up my oldest from a summer college program that only lasted two weeks.  In three weeks I will drop her off for her freshman fall semester.  I know that she will come back home.  I know that I’ll adjust to her being away.  But as I drove to get her I thought about how I didn’t want to drop her off.  I didn’t want to not see or interact with her on a daily basis.  Actually I do want those things because by definition for her to be an independent adult that needs to be our reality.

The conversation ended with what I already know: she has to leave the nest.  I don’t want to not live close to them.

A few weeks ago she and her sister were arguing, typical teen/sister/sibling stuff; I tried to get them to see what I have known for so long and that is that this group, OUR group, our FAMILY, will never be the same again.  It’s a short sentence with such profound implications that I cannot even begin to dive into it.  I’m having a hard time with it because I really like the way things are.  I know they still have to change, and that is a good thing.

One thought on “this group will never be the same again

  1. I can’t imagine what it feels like to have a child leave the nest! :( Good luck on learning your new version of normal. I know with your positive attitude and love for your daughters, you will find a new way to be the awesome family you are with one away :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

